The 28th Rotary Two Castles Run saw finishers finish through the gates of Kenilworth Castle for the first time and it was Phil Gould of Kenilworth Runners who had the honour of storming into the famous grounds first, claiming victory in the prestigious race. Phil, team captain of Kenilworth Runners, joined 2400 other competitors who set off from Warwick Castle and covered the 10km route. Fending off early competition from Emerson Combstock of Coventry Godiva Harriers and third placed Jack Mee of Leamington C&AC, Phil pulled away comprehensively in the final stages, taking his first Two Castles win in a time of 35:14.

Phil was joined at the finish by no less than 39 other members of Kenilworth Runners, who all ran excellently in the warm, sunny conditions over a challenging course. Highlights include: Ros Matthews, who was our first female finisher home in 45:31; Paul Royle, who ran excellently to finish in the top 20 (38:44) and Mark Hall, who clocked a superb new 10km PB with figures of 43:01. Mick Williams was third V50; Martin Belcher was third V55; Tom Dable, second V60; and Pauline Dable first V60.

It was particularly fitting that Kenilworth Runners should enjoy such success on the same day as its new website at was launched and the tenth edition of its own road race, the Kenilworth Half Marathon, was announced. The race, which starts and finishes a stone's throw from Kenilworth Castle, is set for Sunday September 26 2010, and entries for the race open on Monday 5 July.


Gun Position Name Chip Time*
1 Phil Gould 35:14
20 Paul Royle 38:44
31 Mick Williams 39:35
37 Luigi Frondella 40:01
51 Pete Matthews 40:49
71 Clive Pearce 42:08
87 John Mettyear 42:57
91 Mark Hall 43:01
109 Dave Ramus 43:48
136 Martin Belcher 44:33
163 Barry Elkington 45:22
168 Ros Matthews 45:31
200 Martin Smith 46:09
201 John McKenna 46:34
206 Tom Dable 46:38
208 Andrew Preshous 46:31
237 Glyn Clarke 47:12
310 Michael Crust 47:48
452 Mandy Crust 49:55
511 Sally Hicks 50:40
548 Caroline Pack 51:11
628 David Cheetham 49:53
661 Tina Butler 52:51
720 Robert Cheetham 51:21
731 Andy Cheetham 51:26
809 Laurence Copeland 54:20
814 David Brown 53:22
815 Pauline Dable 55:44
860 Anton Raath 52:13
897 Denise Cheetham 53:35
967 Arthur Smith 57:57
1020 Liz Hegan 57:35
1031 Martin Broomfield 51:34
1326 Neil McNab 55:21
1328 Joan Mason 58:41
1584 Sonia Birch 1:01:28
1845 Gary Bradbury 1:03:48
2322 Sharon Litterick 1:22:37
2356 Sam Curry 1:28:02

 * Note that gun positions and chip times are shown. Several runners have significant differences between chip and gun times, hence the apparent misplacing of some positions.

More photos taken by Matthew Kingston-Lee can be found here. If you would like to recive full size versions, then please contact Matthew Kingston-Lee.


Phil on his way to winning.



A happy Phil

Free joomla templates by